Our Committee

Geelong Sustainability Group Incorporated is managed by a committee elected by members at the Annual General Meeting. The President, Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer form the Executive.

Geelong Sustainability 2019 Committee

The current committee was elected at our AGM held on 15 November 2018:

Vicki Perrett


Vicki enjoyed a long career in tertiary education as a teacher, instructional designer and program manager. A seachange retirement to the Bellarine aroused her passion for sustainability and the importance of protecting our natural environment for future generations. Vicki was Treasurer from 2012-2016 before becoming President. Vicki is developing our networks and campaigning for legislative change. She coordinates local events including Sustainable House Day and is advocating for a pilot micro eco village for Geelong.

Noreen Nicholson

Vice President

Now ‘retired’, Noreen had a long career in tertiary education as a project coordinator and departmental manager at Deakin, Karingal and the Gordon. She is now involved in tutoring, mentoring, event coordination, justice networks and is passionate about sustainability. Noreen is the passion behind our new Life Learning project. She is committed to working to preserve our natural environment for her grandchildren and generations to come.

Vivienne Burke


Vivienne worked for many years in adult, community and further education, neighbourhood houses and teaching. She enjoys the often complex administrative tasks of her roles as Secretary, Public Officer and Membership coordinator and the challenges of running our store. Vivienne conducted the extensive research for both editions of our Sustainability Directory. She is interested in travel, real food, architecture, gardens and schools.

Sara van der Meer


Sara moved to Australia from the Netherlands after successfully completing a Masters degree in Global Business and Stakeholder Management. With a strong focus on finding the balance between people, planet and profit, Sara is currently Head of Operations at HIP V. HYPE a group of companies focused on sustainable development, design, consulting and research. Since becoming Treasurer in 2017, Sara has migrated our accounts to an online accounting platform and overseen our significant growth in revenue and operational complexity.

Tim Adams

Committee Member

Tim has 40 years’ experience as a building designer. As Principal of F2 Design he has a reputation for cost effective, high performance houses.  He is an Accredited Energy Rater, a Fellow and Past President of the BDAV (Building Design Association of Victoria) where he initiated the BDAV 10 Star Challenge.  Tim presents frequently at public events, radio shows and industry conferences. He also writes for several technical publications.  The House with No Bills in Renew 120 was a description of Tim’s own high performance house which has delivered carbon neutrality and costs nothing to run.

Phyll Cummings

Committee Member

Now semi-retired, Phyll was a Commonwealth public servant for over 30 years in the Bureau of Statistics, Commonwealth Superannuation and more recently the National Disability Insurance Agency. She has considerable experience in human resources and governance. Phyll joined the committee to help raise community awareness about environmental issues, sustainable choices and healthy living. Her main roles include auspice liaison for the Humans in Geelong Pick My Project grant and updating the Sustainability Directory.

Fred Ritman

Committee Member

Fred has worked in education for his entire career and holding senior positions in TAFE, State Government and the private sector. He is passionate about sustainability and enabling the transition to a carbon neutral future. Fred seeks to live his life with minimal environmental impact through renewable energy, growing vegetables, supporting low energy, organic, carbon neutral, and minimising waste. He’s developing a business plan for our new social enterprise.

Jennifer Wressell

Committee Member

Jen has worked in health management and indigenous health for over 10 years, but most recently managed a station in Antarctica for 10 months over winter. This experience solidified her interest in climate change, renewable energy sources and healthy communities. Passionate about backyard vegetable gardening, hydroponics, fermenting and home preserving she is keen to support the development of healthier communities and see less chronic disease and social isolation. Jen is a fellow of the Australian Rural Leadership Foundation and associate fellow of the Australian Institute of Managers and Leaders.

Jonathan Wright

Committee Member

Jonathan has 21 years experience in the engineering sector, initially in the UK automotive industry and more recently in Australia specialising in water infrastructure installation and upgrades. Jonathan has been a volunteer member of the Geelong Sustainability Community Owned Renewable Energy (CORE) project since its inception in April 2015 and is interested in sustainable building and technology.

Dan Cowdell

Project Coordinator CORE & Climate Safe Rooms

Dan is passionate about sustainable living, organic gardening, real food and renewable energy. Dan joined Geelong Sustainability in late 2013 and was elected President in 2014. In 2016 he stepped down to assume the role of Project Coordinator for our CORE Geelong project. Dan chairs the CORE (Community Owned Renewable Energy) Geelong task group and has been the driving force behind our new website. He is an electrical engineer formerly employed by a local solar installation business and has also worked as a field organiser for GetUp, mobilising people on issues like climate change. In his spare time he is busy developing a permaculture property and building a straw-bale house.

In addition, Geelong Sustainability would like to acknowledge the many past committee members who have donated their time, energy and expertise to support the organisation over its ten plus year journey.